Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Good Thing I'm Flexable

    October 27, 2018 in England ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    It turns out staying at the hostel for the day was a great idea. I met new people, got groceries, got an oyster card, and just spent time hanging about. I actually ended up staying up way past when I'd normally head to bed talking to people. After finally settling down for the night (2am) I thought I'd just wake up with the sun through my window, after all, the tour I wanted to go on wasn't until 10:30. I thought I'd have loads of time. Waking up at 8:30 I figured I could take a leisurely morning, and a quick shower later I was in the kitchen getting breakfast. Glancing at my phone I realized it was already 10 in the morning! There was no way I could make the 10:30 tour. So I quickly changed my plans for another free tour at 11, I even used the underground to get there. Arriving with fifteen minutes to spare, I found out that the free tour was full. That meant that I had to wait until one for the next group, but I did find out that you can pre book the tour even though it's free. After making sure I was set for that I decided to wander around Covent Garden, a popular shopping center. Not even 30 feet away from where I was standing there was a street performer, or busker as they refer to them here. I watched the end of his very interesting performance and continued to wander. From there I walked in to Apple Market where people were selling their handmade crafts and wares. As my hands have been absolutely freezing I was on the lookout for gloves, and thank goodness I found some. They were definitely over priced, but feeling my fingertips is worth it. After checking out all the booths, and with another hour to kill, I thought it be perfect timing to get some food. Normally I'd just pop in to some shop and grab a sausage roll, but everything in this particular area is some snazzy, and surely overpriced, place. By good luck though, I'm worth an extravagant meal and ended up getting confit duck leg. It was so tender and the braised red cabbage was delicious. Over all it wasn't quite the morning I expected, but it was still fantastic.Read more