Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Showers of London

    October 28, 2018 in England ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    Today the sun did not greet me through my window, but instead, water pouring from the skies. Two days in London and it was finally raining. Okay, change of plans. Rain means walking tours are definitely out. So while making my plans for the day, in walked one of the people I'd been talking to and she invited me to go to the British Museum... well what a perfect day for it. My tour guide even said the day before that as cold as it felt not to go to a museum when it was just cold, and to wait until it rained. So we said we'd meet in the lobby and then head out. Soon we were on our way to what has to be the least expensive thing to do in London, with only a £5 suggested donation. When we arrived, the line was massive, but it seemed to be moving quickly. In no time at all we were taking the obligatory photos, and then walking inside. This place was huge! Of course I had to get a map so I know what they had to offer, and it also made for a great souvenir. I decided to make my way to the exhibit on coins, which was fantastic. It started from the very first coin currency, covered the types from all sorts of different locations, and even had part of it cover the credit cards that we use today. They even had a section on the fake currency made for films and television and covered a scene from Doctor Who. From there I went over to the wing that housed their clocks. Quite and interesting bit that went through the beginning of measuring time (sundials), to the ornate table pieces with one in particular being quite astonishing (a gold ship), all the way to today. After that I met up with my museum partner and had a surprisingly nice lunch, and not too badly priced either. From there we went our separate ways again and I made it up to the area that covered the sections of Roman's, the rise of christianity, pottery, jewelry, and so much more. There was quite a lot to soak in. From that section I stumbled right in to their ancient Egypt section which had real mummy's, sarcophagus, and jars where the they kept the "vicera," or internal organs. Now my favorite bit was actually the gallery where they kept the most amazing sketches and watercolor, some by Picasso, others by Degas, and many who I had never heard of but am very grateful I saw. I will always be blown away by the the pieces in an art gallery. There was even a section of newer pieces, many of which were highly detailed and impressive. From there I met up once more with my museum buddy, and after going over all the great things we'd seen, even making a few recommendations, we were off and running again deciding to just meet back at the hostel. Knowing I still had laundry to do, and a tour later that night, there were only a couple of things I HAD to see. The Easter Island Head, which was somehow larger than I had anticipated, and the Rosetta Stone which had such a large crowd that you had to muscle your way to the front (so I had no problem.) They were both awe inspiring. Along the way there was a piece that I thought was particularly worth mention; it covered all the pills and drugs a couple had taken over a lifetime, from immunizations at youth to what they took as they grew old before they passed. It was a shockingly large display, and I think said a lot about the world we live in today. Now, one last thing: Do not, under any circumstances, touch the exhibits! Watch your children and make sure they don't touch the exhibits! Do not let your children climb on the exhibits! These pieces are not covered in glass so you can get a better look at them, not so they can be fondled! It should be common sense, but after seeing the madness of people breaking these rules so many times I thought I might give a small PSA. Don't touch!!! Okay, rant over. After being nearly on overload with all the amazing pieces I'd seen, and I absolutely understand why people go back multiple days in a row because there's really no way to see it all in one day, I headed back to the hostel. Either I did laundry now, or I walk around tomorrow in dirty clothes. Naturally, while waiting for my clothes to finish washing, I finished my book and of course started another. As it neared time for me to go on my tour I realized, my clothes weren't going to be dry. Deciding I'd deal with it later, I took my damp clothes, shoved them in my bunk, and took off. Fortunately getting better at the tube system and made my way to the stop I needed to in no time. I'd made it to the tour. Hopping on the bus, and heading straight to the top deck, we were shortly on our way. As we headed off our guide went over the Jack the Ripper murders, told us about the sites were they took place as well as why they weren't all available any more, and pointed out a ton of fun things along the way. Our guide, Allen, was uproariously funny, cracking jokes and telling stories, even giving a little ribbing now and then. He pointed out a few Doctor Who sites, and then even messed with me saying I couldn't be a true fan or I'd be home watching it like he wanted to be. Once we were off the bus and walking around we got in to the thick of things. He took us to one of the murder sites and read the letters that the ripper supposedly sent in, then continued us along the way showing us as best he could what it would have looked like back then, and painting a picture of how things were. Even on such a macabre tour he managed to keep things light and have the whole group laughing. One thing that my nerdy heart loves was that he took us to a place where they filmed a scene in the BBC show Sherlock and I stood in the same place as Martin Freeman stood when he (in the show) watched Sherlock jump from the building... and yes, I took pictures. The night ended at The Sherlock Holmes bar where I did make sure to try their Sherlock ale; it wasn't bad. From there, I decided that my night was done and I headed back. Reflecting on my day, it feels like I'm not doing a lot while here, but I am certainly enjoying my time, and that's what matters, besides I can always come back.Read more