Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Making my way downtown...

    October 27, 2018 in England ⋅ ⛅ 4 °C

    Finally, I got to my tour, and it was marvelous. I may have had to walk for almost three hours, in absolutely frigid weather, but it was well worth all the sights I got to see. Some though, were surprisingly unimpressive, but I do still get to say I saw them with my own eyes. If only I had better retention because our guide was so informative and passionate about history. (There's a list of places I saw in the first photo.) Turns out the free walking tour was well worth the money, but don't worry, I tipped my guide. The selfie is actually in front of Buckingham Palace. I also learned that you can't take photos next to the royal guard any more, which is fine because it's for their safety, and the one I have is from a very zoomed in photo. Along our walk we went past Trafalgar Square, which for the life of me I can never seem to remember the name of when I'm telling someone where I went, that was having an event. Apparently this is the "hip" place that has special events and music all the time, so after having a pint in a pub, and collecting my tote from the tour, I headed over. It was "Africa in the Square" with music, and dancing, and fantastic food. I made sure to get some nourishment, which was actually spicy, and delicious. A few very cold hours later, new earrings in tow, and I was making my way back to the hostel. Even as exhausted as I was, I hung out for a few hours with my fellow travelers before heading to bed. I can't wait to see what tomorrow brings.Read more