Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Is this was true laziness looks like?

    November 7, 2018 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    Waking up much later than I normally do, probably due to not going to sleep until nearly three in the morning, I decided that this was my day off. I lounged in my bed for a while, and once I had gotten ready for the day thought perhaps I'd go for a nice stroll. Definitely a difference from rushing off to see sights and be the first person in line. When I started to get hungry I bee lined it for the French cafe for more good food, and excellent coffee. Satiated, I headed back to my room where I (even on a lazy day) thought I could work out a plan of attack for the day. I decided that even though it would be a light day, I couldn't do nothing, so I headed, once more, to the Royal Mile. I finished my quick walk right in front of St. Giles Cathedral, where I'd been told that instead of an angel playing a harp, they have one playing bagpipes. Of course that's not all there is to see, there's the stunning stained glass, ornate woodwork, and naturally the history that goes with it. As this was one of my shorter trips to a point of interest, I bought a very fancy photo permit, and snapped away. Days could be spent in there looking at every elaborately adorned doorknob, bench, chair, etc. I did find my bagpipe angel, after asking where it was, and located it in the Thistle Chaple. This room blew all the rest out of the water. Made completely out of products from Scotland, and every bit from the armrests down to the plating on the key hole, was spectacular. The church was smart enough to have a docent in the room to explain things and point stuff out, and without her I wouldn't have found what I was looking for. At nearly the top of the ceiling, carved in wood, was my angel; shortly after I found out there was more than one. I headed back to the dorms, stopping for a nice hearty salad, and called it a day. Except, when I got back to the room there were two of the girls who I had been out with the night before. We chatted for a while about our travels, and anything else that popped up, before we were joined by another woman. I even found out that one of them is going on the same tour as me. Having too much fun to stop the night we headed downstairs and ended up running in to more of our companions from the previous evening. Some left, to watch a football game at a bar (or soccer), and the rest of us stayed... for trivia night. Possibly the hardest trivia ever. The first round was about Scotland, and even with all the tours I had been on, I could barely help. Another team actually had someone from Scotland, and I won't call them cheaters, but they certainly had a leg up. Three rounds later, and we were crowned with second place. Not bad, but I'll have to work on my general knowlage. Once the results had been released, it was on to karaoke, but not for me. I decided laundry, and a good night's sleep, were key to making sure I made it to the 7:45 meeting time for my tour. Tomorrow, it's on to Loch Ness, and maybe I'll even encounter the renowned Nessie.Read more