Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Turning It Around

    November 9, 2018 in England ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    After salvaging yesterday by spending a few hours at the National Museum of Scotland, and my god it was not enough time, I decided to treat myself. One order later and I was digging in to what may be the unofficial meal of Scotland: haggis, neeps & tatties, or as they're also known, turnips and potatoes, smothered in whiskey sauce. I don't even like turnips, but the whole thing was amazing, and it was possibly the best haggis I'd had my whole time there. For dessert, because it was a rough day, I got a fried Mars bar. This extremely popular dessert, is exactly what you'd expect, but another thing I couldn't miss out on while visiting Scotland. After finishing my meal, and walking across the street to my hostel, one of my new friends convinced me to go on the pub crawl that night. Since knowing it was a great way to meet people, and because I did have such a fun time the time before, I agreed. It was fun, for the first few pubs, and then something crazy happened... our guide hit his head on something random and started bleeding everywhere. Thank goodness he was alright, but things did peter out after all the questions and gossip. I decided to retire early, and try and get a better start to the next day.

    Waking up bright an early, and making sure to pack up my stuff, I got ready for the day and checked out of my room. Although I still had another night in Edinburgh before I headed for Liverpool, I was changing hostels because apparently there's a limit to how long you can stay in certain places. Storing my luggage for the day, I headed to the Scott Monument, today was the day I finally climbed it... if it was open. When I got there they were, much to my relief, already working on opening up. They let me right in, and I started my way up the 287 steps to the top, only stopping to take an occasional photo. It was definitely a fantastic view, and quite an interesting perspective being on top of the city, while still inside it at the same time. From there I decided to wander, and came across a very funny busker, who before I knew it had occupied almost 45 minutes of my time. Laughing practically the whole time, and highly impressed by his escape from a straight jacket and chains (especially after he snuck off and scared someone walking past), I made sure to give him a few pounds and thank him for his great performance. Deciding it was late enough, I grabbed my belongings and walked to my next hostel for the night. It was definitely comfortable and relaxed, and I was so grateful this place was as cozy as the last. There were all sorts of cute quirks around like art on the walls, statues (one in particular startled me every time), and every room had, along with the number, a name to it; mine was the Latin room. Once I was settled in, I messaged my friend to let them know I was ready as soon as they were. About an hour later we were meeting up and making our way to the summit of Authors Seat, which is well known for having a marvelous view over all of Edinburgh, and all the way to the coast. Although it was only five, it was already dark, so it wasn't possible to see as far as normal it was still a stunning view of the lit up city along the way. Unfortunately, my legs would not cooperate, and once my calves had sized up (I guess I should have been stretching at night) that was it. I didn't make it to the top, much to my chagrin, but it just gives me something to conquer on a future trip, and although not at the top I still got a superb view. Walking back in the direction of my lodging, I realized I had to eat, and we decided on Nando's; or more accurately, it was decided for me when my friend realized I'd never been. I was actually quite impressed, and I'd be more than okay with the chain making it's way to the states. Once full, we made our way to my new hostel because by good fortune, they were promoting a comedy show; we were both excited by the prospect. It ended up being an absolutely hilarious show, and of course being in the front, there we were fresh bait for the comedians on stage. Neither of us had it as bad as a guy at the table next to us, but he took the ribbing like a champ; the poor guy had no idea that sitting in the front meant you were prime picking for those on stage. After a great show, my friend and I parted ways, and I headed back to sleep, and hopefully get some rest before my journey the next day.
    Read more