Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19–20

    Day 18 Astorga - Foncebadon

    May 14 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    24.6 km (538.2 km from start). 1734 calories. 31.000 steps. 5.6 km/h (according to Apple - around 730.000 steps since day 1)

    Astorga hostel was one I wanted to try. Old, with special atmosphere. Wooden floors and walls - you could hear everything - and everyone in that place. No dinner or breakfast - just old fashioned pilgrim hostel.

    Monday in Astorga was like Sunday anywhere else in Spain - everything was closed. Looked for pizzeria - wanted some junk food. Ended with durum with chicken 😡 - couldn’t find decent restaurant open. Astorga - I don’t need to come back.

    Started day in 870m above sea levels - ended in 1420m. All that in 24 km. Easy day on Camino today. Tomorrow I am getting to Camino’s highest point - 1500m above sea levels - then it will be down the hill. My knees are already complaining 😂

    Staying at another old fashioned pilgrim hostel in Foncebadon - so high in the mountains there is 5G connection, there is both dinner and breakfast, all my clothes is being washed and dried. There is absolutely nothing to complain about 😇

    PS. First picture is me at day 1 on Camino - and day 17. Never had a beard in my life - keeping it or not?
    Read more