Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 242

    3 days Motatapu Track

    November 20, 2022 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Maybe one of the hardest and stupidest things I did so far. But it helped and it was a great feeling to be back and not dead!

    One day after my grandpa died I can’t stay in public and live the hostel lifestyle like normally.
    I was to sad and I needed to go out in the mountains. So I decided to go on a track with everything I have.
    I was not really thinking about anything, not the distance, how much energy I need or even food.
    So yes i started walked from Wanaka to the beginning of the track and from there to two Huts (houses in the mountains)

    Every day was fucking tough, my legs felt heavier then normally and felt like I can’t walk anymore and that on my first day..
    My drinks been already empty when I reached the track so I started drinking river water (not the biggest problem).
    Also my food runs out really really quick because I just got food for maybe a day - like I said I was not thinking.
    So I tried to eat less as possible, that makes it not easy when you walk in the mountains every day..
    After my second day I nearly had nothing to eat left just a small piece of bread. I was lucky that I had some company in my Hut (Highland Creek Hut)
    and they gave me a bit to eat, but they also told me that I can’t finish the track with less food like that and also they said a big storm is coming.

    I was thinking about the future of my track and the next morning I decided to walk back to civilization.
    I was hungry, my legs been shivering, I was completely wet and I had nearly no energy left.
    The walk was tough especially the beginning, but after I reached the highest point I had new energy and I also don’t felt my feet anymore, to be fair that helped.

    After 6 1/2 hours I was back at the parking area and I was looking for a pick up. That works pretty well!
    Man was I happy to be back. At some points I really felt like I been dancing with the god of dead!

    Now I am back in Wanaka and rest here for today, everything hurts but I am not hungry anymore and that feels great!

    The good thing beside the nature (so beautiful) was I had a lot time to think about what happened.
    I mean I am still sad that’s normal but I think I can handle the situation better now (hopefully).
    My Grandpa is gone and maybe it was the best for him at the end of the day. It’s ok to be sad but we have to stay on our way, we have to follow our dreams we can’t fall in depression. I am sure that’s what he wants.
    He is gone from that earth but he will be in our hearts until the day we die.
    It’s on us to keep his legacy alive!
    I don’t know if I will ever see him again, but if we do then we drink a beer, smoke a cigarette and talk about everything we have in our mind.

    Rest in peace Grandpa!
    We love you and we will never forget you, you did a great job and hopefully one day I will be a great grandpa like you!
    Read more