Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    San Vicente de la Barquera

    September 16, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Another rainy day - so far, pretty wet! I was talking with a guy who said he walked for 60 days with only 3 days of rain. At this point I was at 8 rainy days out of 11. In general it's fairly warm, although today I got a little chilled, so it's not unmanageable, but it got a little old to always have wet feet. Most days were a mix of rain and sun; only one day have I been stuck inside the rest of the day after I got to where I was going. Got to outside San Vicente, sat in cafe while it poured, read paper and did puzzles. Walked into San Vicente with Danish guy named Jacob. We saw a bunch of pilgrims on the sidewalk, found that hostel was closed (bedbugs). A bunch of us rented an apartment - Jacob and I and 2 German girls on mattresses on the floor in living room, 7 others in 3 bedrooms. It turned out to be a really good situation, we ate together and connected. The Australians gave me some ideas for adjusting pack so shoulders won't hurt. San Vicente another beautiful coastal town.Read more