Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Travel to Spain

    September 4, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Monday 4th - Travel day, long but uneventful. Got to Brunswick at 11:30, almost didn't get a seat on the bus to Boston. Then tons of traffic, so a good thing I hadn't gotten a later bus. Pizza in airport, boarded without trouble. My seat was next to an old Spanish lady with a dog, so I got changed to a seat farther up front with good leg space and a nice guy next to me. At one point I was sure I was going to throw up but I didn't. I didn't sleep at all on the plane (not really tired), arrived Madrid airport 6 am.

    Tuesday 5th Got bus from airport to bus terminal without difficulty, just got on the 8:00 bus. Ride seemed long, didn't sleep, two times I was sure I was going to through up but I didn't. Bilbao quite large. I started to worry that I had never heard from my airbnb host Armando, tried to message him from the airbnb site with no results. I had to work at getting a cell phone (hard to figure out), then was able to call him. I'm pretty sure he didn't know I was coming but he said ok. I ate then took metro to Barakaldo. Unfortunately I should have taken the train, so I was in wrong place. Kept on calling Armando for directions which didn't work, finally figured out what I had done wrong, had to walk an extra thirty minutes. I was hot and tired by the time I got there. Good to get a shower and unpack. Talked with Armando who was a sweet man, language teacher. The duffle bag that Megan had gotten worked great for the plane and other transport, but I dragged it around too much, put hole in it and little one in backpack:(. To bed at 8:30, room super dark and I slept well.
    Read more