Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Castro Urdiales

    September 7, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Pobena - Castro Urdiales 17.5K
    Slept fine my first night; I set alarm for 7:30 as we had to be out at 8, but the lights came on at 7:30 so no need for alarm! Hostel had 40 beds, only 2 toilets, but it all worked out somehow. . Had breakfast in bar next to hostel with everyone else, gigantic chocolate croissant. Started walking at 8:30. First part along the coast, ,beautiful. Then the path split and what I thought would be coastal path was on a highway, climbing up. I was sure I was lost but finally came back in to coast. Then through some tunnels and rough climbs - I'm pretty sure that was wrong. Finally into Castro, beautiful walk along promenade but I was tired. To the hostel at 1:30, so 5 hours walk with one little break. Hostel not open till 3 so had lunch, sat around. Good walk but lots of doubt whether I was lost. Feet and back doing well, hips and legs hurt a bit. Went into city with Elenal, fun to talk. Beautiful day, walked breakwater. Went to library for internet but not available, oh well. Egg dish for supper, to bed early.Read more