Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Guemes

    September 10, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    Noja -Guemes 15.6k
    Beautiful walk to town, coffee by water. Then spent about 45 min trying to find arrows, which was ok because town very pretty. Asked a couple of people and finally found the route. Walked a while with an older Canadian couple which was nice. Stopped for kind of weird mushroom fry up, at least it was a veggie! Occasional light rain but mostly really nice day. The way to Guemes seemed long; I kept expecting to be there but the road went on and on. Finally got there, kind of in the middle of nowhere. WONDERFUL hostel. All arrivals were greeted with cup of cold water, food if hungry. Rooms really nice, green space in middle. I was in a room with Australians and kiwis, really nice people. I wandered down to the tiny village to get sweets, beautiful countryside. At 7:30 there was a talk in the chapel about the spirit of the albergue. I volunteer to translate for English, someone else for French. It was so much fun- the speaker was really funny and I tried (and mostly succeeded) in being funny too. I was famous at supper😌. After, there was a get-together in the chapel, uke and flute and singing. I interpreted again. Such a great group of people, a great place.Read more