Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Guggenheim Bilbao

    June 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Bus to Bilbao, but the train would have been more fun, I am sure people don’t know what a beautiful place they live in. Discovered I’d picked another great hotel, but not a lot of character.
    My navigation skills were severely tested at Plaza Moyua, with about six possible roads to take. But I found the #Guggenheimmuseum via a fabulous park, walk along the river, a few bridge crossings and a bridge climb. All my effort was rewarded and I approached the Guggenheim as the Rough Guide to Spain said I should. Was it worth it? A definite yes! But the bridge climb nearly killed me as my fear of heights had me shaking! I do love the ‘dog’, the flowers are simply beautiful.
    Bilbao doesn’t disappoint when it comes to street sculptures/installations and two that stood out are the women tied by rope but more importantly the iron work that show a man and a woman looking after someone in a wheel chair (last photo). I worry that old people are being put into wheel chairs and not given any hope of future mobility. I have never seen anywhere where more people are being pushed about. That is great that they are getting out but I fear they get no exercise and are on a downward spiral.
    On a more positive note I had the most delicious ice cream of the trip, with a macaron.. pistachio and lemon.. so yummy
    Read more