Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Ribadesella

    June 24, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Caught the early train to Ribadesella, only two carriages and two Euros. We made our way west along the coast slowly, through villages and farms with the coast on one side and spectacular mountains on the other. It was really misty and quite eerie. The fishermen were having beer and coffee and I joined them by the wharf. I climbed to an old fort and the view of the coast and port were beautiful with the sun trying to make it thru the clouds. Walking back to the train, because I wanted to do a 15 km walk not a 35 km slog, I came upon a Vespa rally which was a hoot. Then caught the train, hopped off at a tiny wayside stop and prayed my Apple Maps would help me find my way back to Llanes. The coastline was fantastic and some of the tiny coves were people free, but others were so crowded I couldn’t understand the pleasure of being there. But it was a brilliant day only spoiled by the most disgusting meal ever, which turned out to be squid in its own dye!!!! Ah well, but I still loved my stay on the coast.Read more