Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Huay Tueng Tao Lake - Zira Spa Round 2

    October 31, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ 🌧 77 °F

    Today was a leisure day, no plans, no tours. I googled what locals do on the weekend and a popular thing to do is to go chill at the local lake about 30min out. So I hop on my bro-ped and check it out. This is actually a really strange place. Upon entry, there is an area with giant animals made of straw you can take pics with. Then there are several restaurants bordering the lake except the “seating” is a bamboo hut in the water. I google the best one and I have to admit, this was the most peaceful place in Chiang Mai so far. I ordered whole fresh water fish, Chinese kale (it’s like a sautéed spinach in a soy sauce of sorts), and some fried rice. Simple, super cheap (less than $10), and good. Had a little meditation sesh and took a nap. I’m telling you, this beats a Saturday rip sesh in PB where Sunday feels like the apocalypse. Lazy weekend picnics are now going to be a thing.

    So, Zira Spa round 2..Their spa menu is like a restaurant menu and if you guys have ever fallen victim to panic ordering, you know the anxiety I felt when I wanted everything on the menu and couldn’t decide. First, the 60 minute body scrub. Nice. Let me remind you I didn’t put on their man thong thing. 1. Because I didn’t want to and 2. Because it doesn’t fit. No not like that, I mean it’s just not meant for larger humans. I’m done showering, she hands me the man thong thing and says “you need to put it on.” Shit, she’s pissed. I’m a Buddhist now so deep breath and squeeze into the thing. How do I describe this to you… um… it’s a black fishnet speedo that covers nothing really. Let’s move on.

    So it’s oil massage time and I think she’s going to take it easy since it’s slippery right? Wrong. My little master masseuse hit me with the elbow and forearm technique again. Does she fuck up everyone like this, or is she just doing this to me? Is this about the undies? Anyway, another great performance. Little 15 minute meditation in the tub and it’s a wrap.

    Dinner was different (breakfast was also different, I went to Souls Kitchen, a 100% vegan spot for the best chocolate banana pancakes ever made). I went to Rad Rabbit, which is 100% vegan. Apparently vegan and vegetarian food here is big, I guess people got tired of traditional Thai food and I don’t blame them. After a while the tummy needs a break. Rad Rabbit is a vegan pizzeria so I had to try their Hawaiian (pineapple belongs on pizza, if you want to fight about it just remember I do Muay Thai), and spaghetti and “meatballs.” It’s definitely not pizza, but still fire. Well done. I’m serious about my spaghetti and meatballs and this was actually very well done. I was shook and gave compliments to the chef in the back. Maybe when I get back to San Diego I’ll go to a… haha no I won’t, just kidding.
    Read more