Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Tassie come back

    May 2, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I am fairly certain that Tasmania is part of Australia, OK 20 years ago they forgot about it at the Brisbane Commonwealth Games but this year the Gold Coast got it right, or so I thought? Well imagine our shock when we rocked up at the airport and they asked us for our passports! After a moment of panic we convinced them Tassie was in Australia and off we went to start our little Australian adventure.

    I felt quite safe on the flight, our trolley dolly looked like in an emergency he could rip the door off the plane and carry us out on our seats. First stop was Melbourne and that definitely didn't put us in holiday mode, the airport was filled with lots of very important executive types rushing to their next appointment. But all that ended when we boarded the flight to Hobart, everyone seemed relaxed which was helpful for when we arrived in Hobart.

    There are two ways to get to Tasmania, steal a loaf of bread uh sorry they have stopped doing that, fly or come by boat. We chose to fly but it seems our suitcases came by boat. But the airport does quite a lot to keep you entertained while you wait. First they keep starting up each luggage carousel and putting on one or two suitcases once everybody runs over they start the other one. Then there was the man walking his dog on the carousel.

    Much later in the night with suitcases in hand we hopped in our taxi for the trip into town. I might have slipped into holiday mode a little sooner than I thought. Here I was thinking the taxi was zooming along when it turns out the speed limit is 110 almost all the way into the centre of town, think I might have to move here.

    Our room is in historic Battery Point and Ann loves it, unfortunately for me the ghost in the room doesn't like me so the stay might be challenging. When I hopped in the shower the door kept sliding open, then the hot water Ann had just enjoyed stopped. Ann tried the sink, water still hot, but my shower was still cold, and when I tried the sink the water was cold, mmmmmmmm might have to buy some holy water when we go shopping. There is a chance that Ann used all the hot water or worked out a way to keep it for herself, but that's a small price to pay for a beautiful room in a nice part of Hobart

    This 'holiday' is going to be slightly different to our usual soirée in that I am organising it and we are going to experience the guided tours we promote at www.tourstogo.com
    Read more