Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Halfway

    July 24, 2017 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    It's hard to believe I am now about to wrap up part A of my trip and start to think about what part B might bring.

    It is the halfway mark. I left home 5 weeks ago, excited, fearful, sad, nervous, and feeling pretty much every other emotion there is a word for. Social media is a wonderful tool for keeping in contact with people near and far but it can also provide a slightly distorted perspective on reality if you take it only on face value. Generally, people choose only to share the good bits and from that it is easy to think that every day is sunshine and roses particularly when people are posting fabulous holiday snaps.

    Don't worry this story is not going too far south, but I will say it has been deeply personal for me and not a single day has passed that went exactly to plan, and my photos from this trip have been missing someone who has been with me every step of the way in previous trips for a very long time. I won't pretend I haven't rattled around a bit this past month trying to work out how to enjoy myself when travelling alone. Part A has had absolute highs and at times absolute lows. Just that constant reminder that no matter where you are and what you are doing, life will deliver its ups and downs.

    Today is my last day in Lisbon, it wasn't part of the plan. Technically I should still be roaming around the UK in my Campervan, but I overestimated the amount of time I would enjoy in the van and the sunshine and culture of Europe was calling my name. It has been a fantastic place to drop my bag and just soak up everything this place has to offer. It can never be done in just 7 days, in fact I am only now learning my way around my own ancient neighbourhood with the tight streets and few street names.

    Tomorrow I head to London for a few days to see some fantastic people who call it home and to get myself ready for Part B that starts on Friday. As my photos have shown I have been to some incredible places, eaten some amazing food, drank beer too often but above all, I have reconnected and been held up by old friends over here and even met new people who I would like to keep in contact with. I have also been supported incredibly by people at the opposite end of the world who have been on the end of the line more often than I can thank them for.

    What I think I always knew but have now had 100% confirmation is that places are beautiful, but in the end, it's the connection with people that makes everything great.

    So thanks England, I will always love you, and Lisbon, you have been just the tonic this girl needed to gear up for the madness that is going to be part B.
    Read more