Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Lovely London

    July 29, 2017 in Kenya ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Each time I visit London I realise how different it is to the rest of England. The mix of people, the efficient transport, the food options and the crowds. Not better, just different. The crowds are everywhere but surprisingly it just seems to flow. Even when there were "major delays" on the Piccadilly line, I still managed to get a standing spot on the first one that came through, three minutes later, which I have to say is far cry from a peak hour train in Melbourne where it is common for me to have to let 2 or 3 pass before I can squeeze on!

    Yet despite being such a historical city with the royal buildings, old archways and grand parks, beautiful London continues to grow and change to the point where there is always a pocket of the city that is new to me on each visit. This time it was Granary Square in Kings Cross. What not so long ago was a derelict part of town, is now the home of a cool art school, a beautifully designed open space with choreographed water fountains (that you are allowed to play in), home to the London office of Google and the place where a 1 bedroom apartment will set a foreign investor back £1,000,000.

    The 2017 visit was short and thanks to some wonderful people who live in that amazing city the visit was sweet. I am not sure when I will be back there again but one things for sure, next time I do land I am sure she would have had yet another nip and tuck somewhere, while still maintaining her classic beauty. She deserves the seat at the big table of world class cities and I can't see that changing anytime soon.
    Read more