Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    #sLOVEnia

    December 29, 2022 in Slovenia ⋅ ☁️ 5 °C

    If Zagreb was an old friend, then Slovenia is an influencer.

    Perfectly set up for an incredible shot around every corner. Every part of the country can be accessed within a 2 hour drive and it’s even possible to be snow shoeing in the morning and relaxing on an Adriatic beach in the afternoon. On my trip though, I had limited time so I spent most of it in Ljubljana (Loo-Blah-Na) and Lake Bled. And the photos don’t disappoint.

    I can’t help but think though, if Slovenia was invited to a party, she would arrive late, breeze through the door looking stunning, stop everyone in their tracks, take a selfie and just as promptly turn around and walk out the door. The bewildered crowd would be left asking “who was that”? With a chorus of “I have no idea” ringing out before the party returns to whatever it was doing before that moment.

    For me to have formed a more concrete bond with Slovenia we both probably needed to put a bit more effort in, stick around a bit longer perhaps. I respect the beauty and ease of walking around Europes smallest capital city and Lake Bled with its snow capped mountain backdrop was like walking in a postcard.

    Perhaps in the fullness of time, I’ll see her as more than a hash tag, I do hope so. In the mean time, I head to Austria tomorrow to see what that cranky old rich bastard has in store for me. Hit me with it Salzburg, I’m ready for ya.
    Read more