Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Into the jungle

    April 15, 2022 on the Philippines ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    We went into the jungle today. Well, we actually live in the jungle right now, but we went further into the jungle. A 45 minutes hike led us through grasslands with coconut trees, very thick rainforest, many bamboo trees, lots of big insects and several rivers we had to cross by walking straight through them. It was hot but lots of fun and the wet clothes from the rivers were really refreshing.

    At the end of our short hike, we reached a waterfall: "Nagkalitkalit waterfall". There, I found one of my declared enemies. 🧐 I first encountered them in Tagaytay and was just horrified by the sheer size of their bodies. The big black and yellow spiders I saw back there were around 15-20cm in size and there were so many of them chilling in their nets on the sides of the road that the walk back after I spotted them was like a creepy horror trip for me.

    Today, luckily there was only one and it was veeeery far away, hanging out way up over the waterfall. In the first photo, you'll see it was very far away and then I zoomed in. 😅 I think my arachnophobia is getting a bit better. Still, they are not my friends. But the waterfall was beautiful and it was very peaceful there.
    Read more