Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Beach day followed by rain

    February 5, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    Yesterday was not too eventful… an amazing breakfast from my host Paulina, a sweet Dutch lady with a B&B in Nelson, a bit of driving - or rather cruising (incl. to a little Buddhist meditation center) - followed by some beach time. It was hot!!! 🥵

    The plan for today was Abel Tasman National Park. By kayak, boat and walking boots… well… what was not part of the plan: wind and rain.
    When I showed up this morning, I was told that my trip got canceled because a storm was expected in the afternoon. I could still do some kayaking in the bay in the morning - and hop on a boat later for some walking - but not as a full day trip…
    Well, I had no other plans - and so I did the ‘small’ version of my trip. And I do not regret it. Even though I got completely soaked twice without even jumping in the water.
    Kayaking was great - it was almost a private tour with a guide and just one more lady I shared the kayak with (from Switzerland).
    Funny enough - small world - Ian, our guide, has worked on the San Juan islands until last year as a guide, guiding similar trips to the one I did last summer… so we were reminiscing about the Pacific North West and I got some new kayak recommendations - while fighting with the wind and the rain, admiring the split apple and getting in and out of caves… it was pretty amazing (and wet).

    After that, I changed into some (for now) dry clothes and had a little break for (yes!!) coffee before hoping on a boat to see at least some corner of the park. I hopped off at ‘Anchorage’ and did a little loop walk. It was soooo pretty. Hardly any people given the weather (yup, it started drizzling) - but really beautiful.
    Well, the last 20min or so, it started pouring down…

    Back with the boat, ‘home’ for a hot shower, dinner under a rainbow. And now, surprise, the sun is coming out again.

    Unfortunately I don’t have more time here - I have a ferry to catch tomorrow evening to get to the North Island…. Yes… the last week has started 😟
    Read more