Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Howdy North Island

    February 7, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Time is really running…

    I said goodbye to the South Island yesterday - via a gorgeous evening ride on the ferry from Picton to Wellington. With me on the ferry - lots of German tourists and a couple of trucks full of sheep. 😟 interestingly enough - similar to Seattle - they have sounds here. Not exactly like Puget sound and the ferry was slightly larger than the Bremerton ferry and took longer. But we’ll… 🤷‍♀️

    It was a short night in Wellington, a quite cute city and I’m sorry I did not have time to explore… I spent the morning having some nice breakfast, getting some real bread (not German, but it is coming close), and exploring the nearby shoreline…. Sooooo pretty. Amazing colors. No penguins in sight though.

    After that, it was again driving. Up northwest… and yes, I hit the 3000km by now.

    Tomorrow, I’ll put on my hiking boots again for a full day of hiking 🥾… hopefully the weather holds up.

    Other than that - I’m more and more impressed about how nice the people are here. Just honestly friendly and interested in your story. Be it the hosts in the accommodations, the coffeeshop barista or today the optometrist (I had some issues with my contact lenses - all solved). And though it‘s basically to high season - it‘s still chilled.
    Read more