Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Cape Town, South Africa

    February 6 in South Africa ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Cape Town was our first stop. This city is so incredible, it’s hard to put into words. There were so many things to do and see that it felt overwhelming at times and hard to find a slow pace to start the trip off with.

    We hiked Signal Hill, Lion’s Head, and Table Mountain (I had a chronic flare-up mixed with the heat and blaring sun.. so that one was a challenge, but I did it!). We surfed in Muizenberg (I.. did not enjoy it, but I’m proud of myself for trying despite my water fears). We visited penguins at the beach, we frequented A Touch of Madness (our favorite local bar with amazing love music). We went sunset sailing and saw a whale fully jump out of the water and belly flop (a highlight of my life). We stayed in an adorable, old house studio with a fireplace and candles everywhere, talked to our kind neighbor, and suffered the power outages every night. Two weeks wasn't enough- we both wish we would have stayed longer. By the end of our time there, we were just starting to get into a groove. I'm grateful we started our trip there, because it was the exact magic and adventure I envisioned when I pitched this crazy idea to Reed.

    Affordable, stunning, good food, easy to get around, accessible nature, PENGUINS- what’s not to love? Well… there were some unlovable things. Primarily there still seems to be quite the divide economically, socially, etc between black and white people. It’s everywhere you go- all the service workers are black and the patrons are white. There’s a certain white attitude here that seems, if not rude, completely willfully ignorant of this divide. Obviously I’m a visitor and don’t fully understand all of the political and social norms, but a lot of this didn’t sit right with me.

    Would I go back? Hell yes I would. Cape Town is stunning and incredible. I think next time I would put even more time and effort into researching what businesses to give my money to and which ones to avoid. I also hope to stay longer, rent my own car, and go in with more intention.

    Cape Town is a hell yes in my books!
    Read more