Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 4: Viskarret to Larrasoaña

    May 21, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 48 °F

    Mileage: 10.5
    Elevation gain: 1,217
    Elevation loss: 2,152
    Weather: much warmer, but a lot of shade
    Total Mileage: 34.25
    Another beautiful day! I’m glad I had a room to myself last night as I’m sure I groaned every time I rolled over - still quite sore. I’m feeling stronger, though, and today’s 10+ was easier than yesterday’s 8.
    The first 2 miles ascended today, with more farmland and forest. The middle was more gentle, hill-wise. I stopped at a permanent food truck (“kioska”) around the top of the day’s hike for a sandwich, banana, and a coffee, which gave me a nice boost before a pretty grueling rocky descent. I stopped in the town of Zubiri for another snack and then walked the sunniest last miles to Larrasoaña.

    Since my start and stop points today are in between the guidebook stages, today was mostly solitary, which is excellent for contemplation, and also for pit stops! I do find that I’m talking to myself more; I’ve named my feet and talk to them, too. Hal has some issues but we’re working through it. My overwhelming emotion as I walk is gratitude that I am able to be here doing this amazing thing.

    1. Farmland to start
    2. Looking back over the hill I was climbing.
    3. Forest along the climb
    4. This rocky descent was tricky but I was VERY glad I wasn’t doing it in the rain. Those rocks would’ve been slick!
    5. My <cough> lunch in Zubiri. Amazing. That bun tasted even better than it looks.
    6. The track goes through an industrial area on and near a road after Zubiri.
    7. Looking back at another descent.
    8. The portion after the industrial area was really delightful. The shade was welcome.
    9. More farmland.
    10. My favorite part of the walk today.
    Read more