Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 5: Larrasoaña to Pamplona

    May 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 59 °F

    Mileage: 10.25
    Elevation gain: 833
    Elevation loss: 1,007
    Weather: beautiful! Partly sunny with a cool breeze
    Total mileage: 44.5

    More beautiful weather and scenery. This won’t always be true, so I am savoring it while I can. I was awake before the roosters (and the snorers in my dormitory!) so I was ready to hit to hit the road at 7 this morning. I didn’t *need* to leave so early, but it was cool and crisp with lovely early morning light, so I was happy to be out. I stopped for cafe con leche and Spanish tortilla for breakfast a few miles in.

    Much less climbing and downhill today, although there was still some! The walk along the wheat field was one of my favorite sections so far. Some of the Pamplona portion wasn’t very pretty, but it’s all still very interesting. I’m in a hotel tonight with a day off tomorrow; both of those things feel odd at this point but very welcome. I was as happy to see the bathtub as I’ve ever been to see an inanimate object. I’m going in search of tapas tonight!

    1. Beautiful light this morning.
    2. I don’t get tired of this kind of trail.
    3. Hilly but pretty
    4. Lots of poppies and wheat today. I loved both but the combination!!
    5. Looking over the Arga valley
    6. Not sure if this was a farmhouse or a church
    7. Lots of this yellow bush today. I don’t think it’s forsythia? Maybe gorse? Smells nice and cheered me on up this hill.
    8. The medieval (!) bridge that took me into Pamplona
    Read more