Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Day 25: Mansilla to León, part 1

    June 11, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 57 °F

    Mileage: 13 miles
    Altitude gain: 492 feet
    Altitude loss: 354 feet
    Weather: cool, partly cloudy, perfect
    Total mileage: 300 miles!

    I awoke to a sleepy Sunday morning village, so I headed out without breakfast. The guidebook suggested I consider taking a bus and skipping a hard and potentially dangerous day along the highway, but I was pleasantly surprised. There was some walking along the highway, but most of it wasn’t on the shoulder (which is what I had imagined). Also, I accidentally ended up doing this walk on a Sunday, so the traffic was very light.

    Today was the last day on the meseta, so accordingly there were lots of fields until the outskirts of León. The last two weeks will be more varied in scenery but I’ll have to prepare myself for mountains again!

    1. The old wall around Mansilla
    2. and 3. Very peaceful beginning to the day
    4. I love these sweet morning faces
    5. Camino art
    6. Medieval bridge over the Río Esla
    7. and 8. I’ll kind of miss the fields!
    9. Early view of León. If you zoom in you can see the cathedral on the far right.
    10. The Río Torío at the edge of León
    Read more