Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 29

    Day 25: Mansilla to León, part 2

    11 de junio de 2023, España ⋅ ⛅ 70 °F

    León is a big city, and even on a Sunday there’s a lot to see. I made a wrong turn early on and ended up seeing some extra!

    I just can’t seem to get used to the meal schedule here, with everything closed in the afternoon and dinner not starting until late, so I was a bit out of sorts when I finally arrived and tried to find food. It eventually worked out with a supermarket providing a simple lunch/dinner and then a gelato cone this evening.

    I’m taking a rest day here tomorrow, so I’ll have more to post, but here are some initial views from León.

    1. The León bull arena. Right after this I stumbled on a flea market; these apparently look about the same in Spain as in the US.
    2. I had a nice rest and snack in a shady park with this fountain. The huge mouth on the fish and the weird cavorting dudes at the bottom crack me up.
    3. I also stumbled on this right before I got to my hotel. I didn’t manage to catch a video, unfortunately. Very slow, very bugle-heavy. I have no idea what it was for. Four little girls in white dresses leading the parade.
    4. Detail from the front of the Casa Botines, which was designed by Gaudi. I’ll get more pics of that tomorrow.
    5. My hotel is quite nice. View from the lobby.
    6. I don’t think you can fully understand how happy this made me. I’ve already taken two baths.
    7.-10. The Catedral de León. Not as breathtaking as the Burgos cathedral but still stunning. I’ll go inside tomorrow.
    Leer más