Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Day 26: León rest day

    June 12, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 59 °F

    I should’ve turned on my Garmin today; I know I logged at least a few miles running errands and sightseeing. I also rested and saw a physical therapist, who massaged my feet and my extremely tight lower legs, so I will hopefully feel better in the coming days. I still didn’t see everything there is to see here; this would be a great place to spend a few days. Here are a few sights, though.

    1. Basílica de San Isidro. I wish I’d had time to see the inside!
    2. Random street, although many of them look something like this in this old part of the city.
    3. This is Alfonso IX, who reigned here in the 12th century. Sassy.
    4. and 5. My Spanish skills and Google were confounded by the signage, but I think these are Roman walls? Old, anyway. I love all of the different layers of stones in 4.
    6. I’ve seen quite a bit of this kind of stone mosaic inlaid in pavement. This particular one made it look like there’s a rug spread across an intersection.
    7. The Gaudi—designed Casa Botines. Not as interesting inside.
    8. Random building, but I have seen a lot of rounded details in the architecture here.
    Read more