Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Day 34: O Cebreiro to Alto do Poio

    June 20, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 52 °F

    Mileage: 5.5 miles
    Altitude gain: 843 feet
    Altitude loss: 719 feet
    Weather: Misty and rainy to begin: sunny and cool later in the morning
    Total mileage: 396.5

    It rained quite a bit in O Cebreiro, which I’m told is common, and the day started with poncho and pack cover. Unfortunately this meant I was denied the mountaintop views, but I guess it’s the price of all the green, right? Once I came down the mountain a bit, the cloud cover receded and it turned into a beautiful day.

    Monica walked with me again, which turned out to be a real blessing. I didn’t feel well overnight, and my morning started with the runs. (No, not the fun kind.) I felt increasingly worse as the walk went on; even small hills felt insurmountable, and my pace grew slower and slower. I finally threw in the towel at the top of the second peak, and Monica kindly called a taxi for me. (I am certain I couldn’t have done this on my own!) I took the cab to Triacastela, where I had already reserved a private room with its own bathroom, fortunately. Two days later I’m still sick and facing the reality that I’m not going to be able to finish this time. Here are the pics from that last short day:

    1. and 2. Misty at the top
    3. This green doesn’t get old!
    4. and 5. The trail did go up and down, so it was in and out of the mist.
    6. There were entire fields of daisies along the way today!
    7. The Iglesia de San Xoán in tiny Hospital
    8. and 9. More mountain views. My best shot has power lines. Maybe I can photoshop it when I get home.
    10. Happy trails!
    Read more