Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Meanwhile, in Santiago…

    June 26, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 66 °F

    (this is Kate)

    I’m in Santiago de Compostela, where I was to have finished the Camino de Santiago, met Neal, and then started my vacation as a tourist with him. Well. I got very ill at the end of the Camino and couldn’t finish. I took a train to Santiago to recover. Neal’s flight was canceled, so I’m here alone while he travels.

    Once I stopped feeling sick and a little sorry for myself, I’ve been excited to think about finishing the Camino another year, and have been poking around Santiago. It felt great to get out and walk again today (7.5 miles), this time without a plan. I’m still eating quite cautiously, so I’ll have to save seafood extravagance for next time. My best meal here so far was tomatoes - amazing.

    1. One of the courtyards at the beautiful parador of Santiago
    2. Detail on building housing a primary school
    3. Detail (crest?) on the Museo do Pobo Gallego, which was closed today
    4. and 5. Views from a trail system in town. You can see the Cathedral on the right in 4.
    6. Seen on my walk near a tunnel that went under a highway
    7. This was almost literally a wall of blue hydrangeas next to some apartments
    8., 9., 10. The famed Cathedral de Santiago de Compostela.
    Read more