Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Bog Factor

    June 17, 2015 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    In the morning we left our mirror paneled, fake rose petal room at the Glasgow Ramada, and headed north to Glencoe.

    To what extent does geography affect our character? And how long does it take to wind itself into our DNA? What kind of human do you become after generations living on these wild, savage, wind swept mountains? And how will these genes express themselves after your decendants have long since left?

    I still remember my first time in the Spean Bridge area. It was like awaking out of a stupor. It was in fact, the moment I recovered from the worst bout of food poisoning of my life. I wish I knew just where I was standing the moment I looked out over that countryside. But I remember the feeling distinctly. It was the moment I felt "healed," as I thought it.

    And it resonates with me still.
    If Colorado was lush and green, and surrounded by ocean, this would be it.

    My back is drenched in rain. 40 mph winds whip my hair into my eyes with painful, stinging force. It's a fierce country, and the moment that the clouds part, and the sun gleams down, it sparkles like an emerald.
    Read more