Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Dubliners

    June 17, 2015 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    The only book I've read by James Joyce. I sincerely hated it in high school, but I`m finding a lot of things I hated in high school, I don't hate the second time around. So Ulysses is on the list to try.

    Much has been said of the vaunted friendliness of the Irish. I have to say, none of us have felt it though. Invisible is not so bad. Much better than active dislike. Not that I blame them. It was getting seriously annoying hearing more American accents than Irish ones while there.

    The Irish must be the silent ones, I thought. That's how they know eachother.

    The book of Kells fulfilled this student of medieval art history's dreams, and the literary walking tour inspired me to read more, as though I needed it. I was pleased to be there on Bloomsday, wear a straw hat, and eat some gorgonzola cheese.

    It was during that, in which we met the only Irishman there who spoke to us, telling us we didn't care anything about what he was saying.
    Read more