Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Ben Tre day 2

    February 28, 2020 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    Set off at midday and went looking for a Mekong boat ride. Found a guy called Mr. Phi and bartered with him for the boat ride. Agreed to a price. Waited for 5 mins before a medium sized big boy boat arrived, with old mate who would become our driver. Set off down the main strip of the Mekong. There were many large big daddy boats carrying all sorts of produce e.g coconuts, bags of rice, sand, the list goes on. We finally turn left into a more local area. Our first stop was a honey farm. At first me and my friend weren't sure what to do, so we walked around the place for a bit. Old mate signalled us to sit down at a table. Two shopkeepers came out and started making us a tea. It's base was Jasmine tea, a squeeze of lime, sprinkle of pollen and a dollop of honey. It was unbelievably amazing. They also gave us samples of delicious chocolate and dried bananas to which I bought a packet of each. After a few more teas we set off to our next destination. A coconut farm. There we tried coconut candy, a specialty in Ben Trè apparently. I bought a packet, of course. Unfortunately they didn't have dried ginger, so I ate all the dried ginger samples. We then got led to jugs filled with coconut wine and snakes. I had two shots. They tasted...alcoholic. After getting turnt we moved on. Our next stop was at a market where half the stores were open. I was confused. Old mate finally caught up to us and led us on a 10 minute walk. We met up with an old lady mate and a little girl. They took us to a small river mouth where a small boat was waiting. We all hopped in. Old mate and woman paddled whilst me, my friend and little girl chillaxed. The journey was about 5-10 minutes of relaxing serenity. Not much noise pollution, just the sound of paddles paddling the water. We ended up where old mate had docked his big boy boat. Switched from little boat to big boy boat and set off. We stopped at brick farm. So many bricks. Set off back to where we started.

    Saw the sunset whilst watching locals fly kites. Actually stumbled upon it by chance. One of the better sunsets I have witnessed.

    For dinner we went and had street food, my friend had cold noodles with pork and I had pork soup. For second dinner I had an unbelievable Bahn Mi and dessert was a smoothie. Headed back to the accommodation.
    Read more