Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 95

    Fri 08 Mar. Oamaru NZ

    March 8 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    On Monday we walked round the Botanic Gardens in Christchurch then caught up with an old work colleague, Grant, who lives there now. It was lovely to see him and hear about his life in NZ.

    Tuesday we picked up our car - a bit of a bone shaker but will do the job.

    We drove down the east coast to Timaru where we stayed in a lovely Art Deco style apartment overlooking the bay.

    I took a chance on a local barber but realised that a number 2 in New Zealand is a bit more harsh than it is in the UK, but it will grow back....... eventually. I was also told I had beautiful eyes, it was a guy but a compliment is a compliment and Joy was beside herself 😂😂.

    In the evening we visited the local brewery bar and I got my second compliment of the day, the waitress said I smelt good, that was my cheapo David Beckham shite, so that set Joy off again. At sunset we went looking for penguins but only one showed up maybe it was the David Beckham 😂 never mind the sunset was beautiful.

    Friday was a drive further south to Oamaru to break the journey to Dunedin. It's a nice old Steampunk Victorian town and it was interesting to wander around for a few hours.

    We popped down to a local motel bar for a drink and got introduced to 'Toss The Boss '. When you ordered they flipped a coin twice and if you called right twice you got the drinks free. I managed it twice in a row so 2 rounds we didn't have to pay for and free snacks too 😁😁.
    Read more