Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    San Pedro

    December 4, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    When i arrived in San Pedro i only saw few people in the village. Because it was getting dark i hurried a bit and looked for a place to sleep and cooked something fast. The first night i slept without a tarp over me, only the leafs of the bushes protected me from the light rain. The other morning i build my tarp, cos i heard it will rain much more. Totally true! In the late afternoon it started to rain and it was getting more and more. It rained and stormed the whole night and nearly the complete next day without big breaks. In one of those breaks i tightened my robes again and got back in my sleeping bag. I spent the whole day with laying down under my tarp and thinking about god and the world.
    On my third and last day in Sun Pedro the weather was great and i could dry my stuff, that got a little bit wet. With the sun came also the people out of their huts and tents and i wondered how many people are living there. I spent the rest of the day with relaxing on the beach and did a small hiking trip.
    In the evening i was just eating my dinner at the beach as a helicopter headed directly in our direction and stopped a hundred meters from me. They took one guy from the village to the next hospital, because he had a stroke. With this my time in San Pedro ended and i left on the next day with the first sunbeams.

    Here are few things and thoughts about San Pedro.
    In San Pedro are living about 50 people in their huts around the year + the people in the tents. I was completely out of season and there were about 20 people in tents. The toilet situation was during my time okay and every human used them. Nevertheless, you had to pay a bit attention were you walk, because of the dog shit and sometimes it smell pretty bad. However, in the main season it could be a real problem.
    The people there are very kind and everyone was nice to me, but the people from the village stayed a bit away from strangers. I think it's caused by the tourists in the summer, who only visit San Pedro for one day and don't come cause of the way of life in San Pedro. For the next time i hope i will have more time to get closer to the people there.
    Read more