Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Estella to Los Arcos - 13.4 miles

    October 3, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Wow, a short day and somewhat easy.

    Last night I met a lady from New Zealand that recently celebrated her 50 wedding anniversary and she wanted to walk the Camino to prove to herself that she could it without her hubby doing all the planning. She was doing well. Will also mention that she is a shrink.

    For dinner I had paella with seafood, like shrimp and clams. Shrimp here are not like what we get at home. These had the heads, tails and shell, and legs still attached. Very small and over cooked so I picked through them and ate most of the rice and peas. Main course was pork tenderloin and chips with mellon for dessert.

    When I got up, a couple of the Spaniards were singing and I said "no bueno, no bueno", then in english, "that is horrible singing". We all had a good laugh.

    The laundry was dry so packed all and left as the sun was rising.

    The first pic is leaving the city looking back into it.

    The day started off cool, but a slight uphill generated enough heat to make things comfortable. After a fashion, the Camino split with the shorter path to the left. As I was about to take the shorter way, a local said take the longer way as it was flatter. Hey, my mama didn't raise any fools so the longer way for me.

    Saw a few folks from prior days, met a young man from Ecquidor and we chatted for aways until he stopped for a rest. Had coffee and a potatoe quiche at a bar, then continued towards Los Arcos arriving around 1. Room, dinner and breakfast, and laundry for 23 euros.

    I'm relaxing in the kitchen having a beer so happy trails to all of you. Tomorrow is a 17 miler so the rest of the day my feet are up!
    Read more