Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Leon - Day 3

    October 20, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌫 10 °C

    Dark and cloudy this morning, and the party goers that were celebrating last night until who knows when are still tucked away somewhere, but not where I can hear them. Most bars close at 2 am so there must be a lot of folks on vacation.

    The first picture that I added is one of the illuminated cathedral taken last night. Quite dramatic I think.

    Just had a very comfy cup of coffee followed by juice and another crossant which completed my early morning breakfast. Will need another in an hour or so as my appetite is returning and I have miles to go. Oh yes, the pizza I had last night was probably the best ever. The crust was thin, soft and chewy and the ingredients were excellent. Ate the whole thing (so proud of myself for being a little piggy) and it must have been 14 inches or so. Would have taken a picture, but then we know what a pizza looks like and there are better things to record and share.

    Been trying to figure out how the Spanish can eat so late, and eat out as often as they appear to do. What do they do with the kids? Given all the bars and restaurants, and the absence of motorized traffic people must live downtown, or at least very close by and can walk to shops, etc. Also wonder how the bars, etc. make money as there are bars everywhere, and I do mean everywhere. Well, I'll give that some thought when I have nothing else to think about.

    Just returned from a mercado with a quart of OJ and some dried fruit. This will suffice until an early lunch.

    My visit to the cathedral was inspiring. Construction began in 1253 on the site of an older house of worship. Amazing structure and a marvel of artistic and building talent. I've included several of my favorite pictures for your enjoyment.

    For being an off day and an "off the feet" day, I've been walking a lot. Wanted to capture another picture or two of the Roman walls that encircle the old city. Modern Leon is outside the Roman walls and it is interesting how they integrated the old walls into modern building as I am certain that there are laws pertaining to the preservation of antiquity...however, they have the same issues we do with vandals defacing relics with paint. Too bad.

    Leon was a good stop for a couple of days for me to recoup my strength and energy. My appetite appears to have returned with a vengeance and now I can understand how the bars make money...the pilgrim's of course. Lots of hunger and thirst. Plus we do not drive vehicles, only walk, so the environment is cleaner.

    By the way, Leon is one of the few cities in Europe where tapas are "free". No extra charge! How about that! A free meal that is free. Of course, one first has to travel to Leon for the free tapas. (Always a catch).

    I went across the ally for a pilgrims menu, but was told no. They were not serving and the impression I got was that no pilgrim meals even though there was a sandwich board outside. Anyway, my roomie, who is from England, suggested a heavy sandwich shop just down the street so I tried there. Really did not want to wait until 8 pm for dinner (just finished and it is 5:15 pm). Reminded me of a Subway and the chicken and ham hot sandwich was delicious. The bread, though not soft like a subway, was much softer than the traditional bocadillo I had been getting. That, plus a nice salad and a Coke, will keep me happy until tomorrow.

    Hope you enjoy the pictures. I've a 12 miler tomorrow and the weather looks to be ok for walking (as if I have a choice).
    Read more