Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    The Siblings are Reunited

    April 14, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    What better way to organise another overseas family trip than to visit the same country they've visited before the pandemic started?

    This time around, the family of four hope to cherish some new memories while being surrounded by the blossoms that Japan can offer.

    It begins with the reunification of the siblings.

    I arrive in Narita International Airport Terminal 1 on an overcast day and waited for my sister to arrive before we checked-in at Hotel Nikko Narita.

    I tried to capture my sister entering the arrival hall but she was too quick, fortunately when I was looking she stood there right in my field of vision. And once more, a year of being apart has ended.

    As we chatted about our individual flights, my sister and I headed to the Nintendo Check-in Centre in the Visitor's Lounge and had some selfies with Mario and Toad. We then boarded the free shuttle service to our accommodation.

    It was an elegant hotel. There were quite a number of guests. I suppose seeing the Japan Airlines logo on top of their building might have something to do with that.

    We planned to obtain our dinner from the Lawson Convenience Store in the lobby...but before we left,

    Ohhhh...that exquisite joy you will feel when your bottom finally reunites with a warm toilet seat. I did not realise how much I've missed using a bidet.

    I had a smoked salmon bento while my sister had a pork onigiri with some cabbage salad and crumbed fried mackerel. There is sheer delight from getting delicious meals that the price of convenience stores can offer.

    My sister paired her meal with a peach alcoholic beverage but I had mine with a lemon yuzu sour.

    It didn't take long for us to fall asleep after a good meal and long day of travelling.
    Read more