Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Waikaia

    February 13 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Day two of my trip was good. I decided to buy a Fitbit before I left and even though it is not set up correctly I still want to do some exercise each day. This morning I got my bike off the back of the camper and did 6ks around Waikaia. Not much but a start. I didn't have to give way to anyone! This afternoon I went to Switzers Museum. Small but good. I didn't think I would know anyone and low and behold as soon as I got inside there was a display about John Nugent Wood. This is a relative on my Millard tree. I can't access the tree until I get a different connection to my computer and my hard drive. I also read that in 1930, 2000 sheep had their coats remove by blade shearing. No mean feat.
    The bottle house is not able to be seen by most people because of a leak in the roof.They are working on getting it repaired. Petty amazing building with 20000 bottles being used. So evenly spaced.
    Off to Dunedin in the morning.
    Read more