Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Moving from Dunedin to Hampden

    February 20 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌬 13 °C

    Last night when I returned from my walk I got chatting with another 'camper' and his theory is the less water you have on board makes travelling easier. He also helped me with POP's. Pops are park over properties, similar to motorhome parks but no extras. So that is something else I have learnt.
    It was an early start for me. Managed the black waste easy but the grey waste not so well. I don't think I emptied the tank properly but with others waiting I needed to move on. There was leaking on the ground from grey waste so I hadn't turned it off properly. Knocked my confidence again.
    Then it was off for a lovely shower at the baths. I knew how to get there with the road works and did very well on the hills - less revering of the engine!!
    I then went to Hocken Library. Looking for David Smith is difficult but a couple of avenues to explore when I have the time. Need to get a few more facts back in my head.
    With a bit of spare time I opted to go and get more fuel. Saves me worrying later and I had time. I thought I got $50 in Clinton. I suspect it was $150 by going on this reading!
    Then it was back to the dentist to get my stitches removed. She was very pleased the way my mouth had healed and a little shocked at the amount of bruising. She had never seen so much bruising on a patient.
    Very pleased to be on the road again. Brief stop at Palmerston and the on to Hampden where I stayed on the way home from Christchurch in Dec. Loads more people here this time so no sea views from the camper. Might have to bite the bullet and freedom camp.
    Read more