Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Karamea

    March 21 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Last night the people opposite me were sitting around having happy hour. In my time in the parks there don't seem to be many happy hours. I think people are keen but don't want to be the one to ask. I joined them. Two couples from Levin travelling in two motorhomes, heading to the airshow at Wanaka. The sun was shining and it was very nice sitting in the sun chatting away. The custodians were also there helping members. So helpful to some because the road was closed and conflicting information. I figured out I was good where I was going. No roads closed for me. Maybe next week is the closure.
    Opted for fish and chips from the pub. Bit naughty since I only had them on Sunday night. Oh well.
    Chatted too with the other couples next to me as well. The night goes. I did learn that I can lock the storage cabinets on the outside of the camper and then press the lock in. Probably won't make sense to most but for me another wee hint/gem that will make life easier for me.
    This morning I was one of the first away. Buller Gorge is certainly a challenge!! Beautiful scenery though. Mountains full of trees. River on one side.
    I thought I saw a kiwi! Let me think um Kiwi's are not out in the day time Wendy! I am guessing it was a young pukeko, brown in colour.
    At one stage the nerves were certainly tested, when a car coming towards me that I couldn't see as I entered the one lane part of the road. This vehicle is big and I backed a little back but could see I didn't have anywhere to go with a big rock face on my side! The chap managed to squeeze by and I stopped soon after that for a decompression. Very worrying on the system! Other parts had stop go lights thank goodness.
    Finally made it to Westport I had a walk around and stretched the legs.
    Jack had said about Karamea and a cave that was spiritually. It was still quite early so decided to head away after fueling up.
    The road was yet another challenge! Thankfully no one behind me so took it easy. No pressure.
    Went to the information centre and she recommended 17 K drive to a DOC place with the assurances it was straight road. Headed away and saw four campers behind the pub. Yes that will do me. So parked up here for the night.
    Phoned up about the cave and decided I wasn't fit enough to do the two hours walk with others. It would be too frustrating for them waiting on me.
    Did crank up the bike and went for a short bike ride. Something is better than nothing.
    Read more