Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Kumara

    March 23 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    As it turned out the couple that I had been on the tour with had pics of my camper in the Buller Gorge. They had been following me. Not sure how to save them from an email to put the on here. So excellent to see the situation with the camper, rockface and the other car! Fiona sent them to me.
    This morning I was awake early - weird how the body clock works sometimes.
    I headed away about 8-30 and managed that tough bit of road when I was fresh. No road works like Thursday when I went into Karamea. All off because it is Saturday.
    Again only a couple of cars behind me and pulling over was easy and allowed me to drive at my own pace.
    Drove through Westport and stopped the other side for breakfast/ morning tea at a place called Charleston.
    It was then onto Punakaki or the pancake rocks. I don't remember the last time I was there. I do remember as a 15 year-old going there and I will be keen to hunt out the pics to compare.
    It is a well organised with a great pathway down to the rocks. Not sure if we use to be able to walk on the actual rocks when I was young. Cannot now.
    After yesterday's trip to the cave I have a different appreciation for the rock formations. Pretty awesome. Wish I had the skills to get the blow hole "working' to show you. Pleased I stopped in the campervan friendly place.
    On then to Greymouth and a quick trip to the supermarket - I will have options for my meal tonight..!
    The train arrived while I was at the supermarket that I guess was the transalphine. Loads of people on it and waiting to get on.
    Saw a sign post for Shanti town but kept driving.
    Sussed out a place at the Kumara Junction cafe. Parked up for an hour no one else came so moved 7k down the road to the township of Kumara with three other vehicles. Feel much happier.
    A correction too from the other day when I thought they were kiwis or pukekohe - they were wekas!
    A few sandfly bites that have been a bit irritating but manageable.
    Read more