Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Haast

    March 24 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    For the first time since being in a park over night I didn't speak with my neighbours. They seemed to be chatting about biking and then later on a lady came in alone and I rightly or wrongly decided I didn't want to talk to her.
    I was okay and away first this morning at 9am.
    Headed down the island and wasn't in the sight seeing mood. So only two pics and not sure where I have been. I think I stopped at Bruce Bay. Drove through Franz and Fox. I think I stopped in Whataroa for a cuppa and talked to Jack.
    When I got to Haast I searched out a POP and one at Jackson's Bay. 25k. Half way - actually less - thought it would be worth a phone call to check if sites available. No reception. Carry on and as I got to the turn off said this road isn't maintained. 1 K to go I thought I am not taking the camper down. 1k on the bike easy. Got the bike off, helmet on and within 200m a big tree blocking the road...!! Imagine trying to back out ..!! I certainly made the right decision. At Haast in a camping ground. Not cheap but with others so happy. The two couples travelling together from Levin welcomed me.
    Raining so no drinkies but I am certainly having one!
    Read more