Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 53

    Last Footprint

    3 de abril, Nueva Zelanda ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    I have wanted to own a campervan for years and like I said it was part of my NZ Post super scheme that allowed me to purchase the camper back in Oct 23. Purchased it in Christchurch with the help of my brother Winston. If it wasn't for him I would probably still be talking about it..!! I drove it home from Christchurch, been for two weekends away, another trip to Christchurch in Dec to have a few faults repaired, before embarking on this trip. My knowledge was limited - very limited about the workings of a camper. A steep learning curve and still things to learn.
    The trip was planned with a dental procedure in Dunedin (left home 12 Feb) and tripping around, ending in Bannockburn at Easter. I thought I might only last two weeks!
    I have driven 3586ks. I will get the grey waste connection changed to make it more user friendly. No mishaps really. Two stone chips on the window. The fuel gauge issue that was a problem but was resolved. Still haven't found a name for the camper.
    It was all about people for me. Not everyone's cup of tea to visit 3 school friends, 17 ex Air Force people, (8 at one meal), 7 friends, 4 old workmates, and 7 family members - excluding the ones I stayed with and the family reunion. Some really interesting conversations - most were 50/50 but some it was all about them and I would say 80/20! Like I have said after a long period of time people have had a long time of living and I was impressed how they live their lives. I did what I wanted on my holiday not what others thought I needed to do.
    I didn't do many touristy things this time. Went to several museums and saw Dot's Castle at Oamaru, the mail boat trip and going to the caves at Karamea. The caves certainly challenged my comfort zone. My plan was to bike and walk more. I have done this but not as much as I thought - more than the last two years. Pretty sure that will continue now that I am back. I also thought I would read more - again half a book and several magazines and a lot of games on my tablet. I didn't watch the tele and perhaps one program a day on my phone. Communicating was easy with the internet. My old hand written dairies came along for the ride and it was the plan to type them up. Didn't even open them.
    Cost and budget: some places were free or donation. Most $5 per night. Best deal Karamea $7 and a free shower. Most expensive $50 in Haast. The only time I saw a custodian at the motorhome park was in Murchison.
    The longest drive was from Haast to Alexandra or maybe Timaru to Christchurch. Toughest part of driving Buller Gorge and Queen Charlotte Sound drive.
    I only had two days of rain and heating on two nights.
    My Fitbit - least number 3166 most 16342.
    I have a new appreciation for road designers and the people that maintain the roads.
    Amazing scenery on my travels.
    Mostly another person would have helped with photos and directions.
    The family reunion was better than I thought it would be. Loved seeing the kids interacting with other branches of the family. I, too had time to chat to my extended family.
    The only time I thought I would come home was at Greymouth - then it was too far to drive in one day!
    I was considerate on the roads pulling over was easy when you don't have to be anywhere at anytime. For me it was easier to pull over than have the pressure of cars behind me.
    I managed seven weeks on the road. Meet some great people and certainly learnt a lot about travelling alone in a camper in NZ. My backing skills have improved 100%. Some situations I trusted that it was meant to be eg the cave trip.
    I missed my tomatoes ripening and could have stayed home and waited for them to be ready but life is short and I got out and did it while I am still fit and able.
    The rough long trip plan is to go to the North Island late September or early October.
    Thank you to all those that were interested enough to read about what this pensioner was doing - you are all very special.
    Leer más