Satellite
Show on map
  • & Juliet

    June 14, 2022 in England ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    So! This week I wasn’t so lucky 🍀 to be walking distance to West End…consequently I nearly got crushed in the peak hour foot traffic. On the plus side: I got to use the sparkling new Elizabeth Line! Clean, mean tube machine! You could eat off the floors!

    Anyway, off to see the latest West End Smash 💥 Hit. There was a way different vibe at this one: all ages: very young to the die-hard oldies! My C26 ticket 🎟 had me in second row this time…I’ll probably be able to smell the cast
    ‘…treading the boards…’

    It’s the story of Romeo & Juliet… if the actual ending of the original had Juliet live to fight another day… I am skeptical but open minded when it comes to creative stage productions and, with half price tickets there’s not much to lose really!

    It’s made up of modern day songs from artists such as Katy Perry, Britney, Celine Dion, Justin Timberlake, Backstreet Boys etc. so, if nothing else, the soundtrack should be a winner!

    The audience was going crazy from the first minute!

    Verdict: Hmmmm very very PC: non binary characters, gay, bi, trans… very progressive & trying to be all things to all people all at once. It was good. The music was great. It’s probably just a bit too progressive for my personal preference. It will be a big hit with the teens & twenty somethings. Us older theatre 🎭 Queens may be more comfortable with a repeat performance of Phantom or Wicked! 😉Don’t get me wrong, it was very enjoyable…
    🕺🏼🕺🏼2 Romeo’s

    Update: i’ve slept on it… And it deserves three Romeos… 🕺🏼🕺🏼🕺🏼think I was just a bit tired yesterday and didn’t enjoy it as much as I maybe could… It was fun, joyous and well constructed… Fantastic music 🎶
    Read more