Satellite
Show on map
  • Back So Soon?! πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ

    June 26, 2022 in England β‹… β›… 21 Β°C

    Interestingly it seems like I have been away for a year! But, I have already had some people mention they are surprised how fast time has gone and I am coming back so soon… 🀦‍♂️

    Doesn’t feel like that at all for me, which is probably a really good thing. I believe it means that I have had the most wonderful holiday ever!

    A very big positive has been that I haven’t had the same mental health struggles I seem to be often plagued with in my normal day to day life. I have no idea why that is but I assume that adrenaline has a lot to do with it. There has been plenty of that running through my veins in the past month. Don’t get me wrong, there have been challenges & down times but just not as frequent or severe πŸ™πŸ‘πŸ»

    But it is food for thought because there are many things that I’ve reflected on and I hope to be able to bring those thoughts, habits and patterns into my every day life moving forward…

    One thing I have really noticed is that my disassociation from technology (primarily phone πŸ“±) for most of each day has been a godsend! I so hope that I can implement this in my life from now on. Time will tell. I fully intended to get a local Sim card for my phone when I arrived but I very quickly decided against it when I realised how much more I recognise, understand and enjoy my surroundings without constant notifications and and distractions. πŸ™…πŸ»‍β™‚οΈπŸ‘πŸ»πŸ™

    London/UK is so much more expensive than anytime in the past. I’m not sure πŸ€” how people afford to live in London! A very simple pub meal and a pint 🍺 is equivalent to $40. Day travel on Tube is $20. I’m sorta just consoling myself and psyching myself up to return! It will be nice to enjoy my own home & surroundings too…well, that is until the push to move returns πŸ˜•

    The final 24 hours: walked to Eton and along the Thames River walk. Very picturesque but felt I’d been there, done that, so was happy 😊 to head back to London to complete the full circle…

    Spent afternoon catching up on my favourite sights! Top of the list, of course, Big Ben! Exit 3 at Westminster Tube Station. While I was taking a few last photos of the Elizabeth Tower a bird 🐦 pooped πŸ’©on the top of my head! Supposed to be good luck, isn’t it? 😝😍🀣

    Last supper @ ‘The Blackbird’ at Earls Court! Ploughman Platter which was tasty enough. A sign in the ‘dunnies’ emphasised the need to practice hand hygiene to sustain infection control but…sharing soup bowl and spoons: totally fine! 🀷🏻‍β™‚οΈπŸ€¦‍β™‚οΈπŸ˜³πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£

    In all honesty, food ain’t the reason for travel to the UK πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ Many think πŸ€” what they serve is top notch (particularly the Pubs) but they’d probably be given a run for their money if they compared their “Classic” fish n chips for $30 to our “Classic” Parmigiana 😊 …just sayin…

    Anyway…I’m off to get a few hours shuteye before beginning the 30+ hours back down under…

    Thanks πŸ™ so much for sharing the journey with me. It has meant the world 🌍 to me, literally!

    All my love 😍
    Until next time…
    Never put off to tomorrow what you can do today! Life, desire and capability is shorter than you think πŸ’­

    πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§πŸ™πŸ‘πŸ»β€οΈπŸ‘‘πŸ₯°πŸ˜Š
    Read more