Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Vivacious Venice: I 💚🤍❤️you!

    September 18, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Anxiety a plenty this morning when we discovered there was a transportation strike on in Venice! That pre-purchased Vaporetta (water taxi ) pass will now be a waste of money! Oh, well, the best laid plans can often go awry when travelling! 🧳 …panic attack sadly ensued as I tried to get assistance with the problem 😢

    I must admit that the MSC staff were not very helpful with information on how to make our own way to Venice from the huge ship port at Marghera. This was disappointing and made me feel a little bit sad. Deep breaths and I got over it…. Just!

    Arrival: I am currently wandering the alleyways, bridges and canals in central Venice . I cannot believe how beautiful 😍 this city is! There is something beautiful and majestic around every single corner! I am in heaven 😇

    … six hours later, and I am absolutely in love! 💚🤍❤️ This city is like no other I have ever been to… I absolutely, totally and unconditionally, love Venice!
    I will be back! Just so magnificent, magical & splendid! Having my own personal tourist guide with Marta made it even better… She took me to the most amazing places… To her own personal favourite trattoria: Osteria Al Squero (their logo is a gondola) and it is across the way from the second last Gondolier manufacturing yard in Venice. She also took me to the best gelato 🍨 establishment in the city… Gelato Nico. I feel so privileged and lucky to have met up with her yet again! She topped off the most perfect day by gifting me a beautiful knitted King Charles and Queen Camilla set! So beautiful… Thank you Marta! 🫶🏻👑

    Every corner that you turn in Venice greets you with yet another amazing and unique, beautiful and spectacular sight. I am literally lost for words which most people know is very unusual for me! 😳🤐😝

    I can only imagine how breathtaking Venice would be in the evening and at night… I will definitely be coming back and spending at least a week in this magical city 🌃 …if I never make it back for whatever reason, I can honestly say this six hours in Venice has change my life forever… 🥰

    I took so many photos of the brilliance that overtook my senses! There were gondoliers singing as they pushed through the canals and pianists playing in St Marks Square. Just magical 🙏 this is going to require two posts… So I will make the second one soon and dedicated to the brilliance and loveliness of Marta!

    Marta took me to have favourite area in Venice, less touristy: Dorsoduro; meaning hard back due to the earth it is built on, It did not disappoint. We ate delicious 🤤 Cicchitti with refreshing Aperol Spritz (yes! Again!). Robyn, when I visit, we shall buy a breadstick and create our own toppings for some of our own Cicchitti! 🥖 I know I’m going on & on but I can’t help it! This city is splendiferous! Marta took me to a quaint workshop she knows where I was able to speak with the owner & glassblower and buy a precious glass wine 🍷 tumbler made by him. Every time I drink from it I am going to have true love ❤️ in my heart for the most picturesque and mesmerising city in the world 🌍 🇮🇹
    Read more