Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 67

    Day 2:

    September 20, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 57 °F

    Today was not a particularly good day. I rode 58 miles with an extremely sore rear end, and constant pain in my left knee.

    My route today had a lot more elevation. Not too bad, but the weight on my bike makes it excruciating. Although I CAN feel myself getting stronger.

    When I was passing through Grand Ronde an older man told me I could camp in his yard, but on my way there I chickened out. I've seen too many scary movies! That was about 20 miles before I got to the coast . I probably should have taken my chances.

    I almost got hit by a truck. It was my fault . I just didn't look well enough and didn't see him before I cross the street. All day long I've been scared of logging trucks passing me on winding roads with no shoulder, and I do something so stupid as not stop before I cross the street.

    By the time I arrived in Neskowin my knee (and arse) was killing me, it was getting late ,and I was running out of water, so I decided on a motel for the night.

    Also got a pretty bad sunburn on the bottom half of my legs.

    Tomorrow I may bike a short 11 miles to a state park ,spend another night there, and let my body heal. Part of that 11 Mile track is a crazy hill that I'm going to have to climb. I'm extremely scared of it.

    Highlight : I did make it to the Pacific Ocean!!!

    P.S. I'm having Phantom pains( I guess that's what you call them) I just tried to take my helmet off while in lying in bed. So weird. My husband tells me that's going to get worse
    Read more