Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    Day 3 :

    September 21, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 57 °F

    Conquered my first big hill today. It was 754 feet in elevation. Not sure what the grade was but it was hard!!! It took me an hour and a half with many breaks .

    When I finally got to the top a guy in a truck driving the opposite direction stuck his head out the window and yelled "woohoo , good job "it made me smile insanely big , . . and cry. I couldn't stop for about half way down that huge ass hill.

    I didn't have much more left in me after that. I continued the short distance to Devil's Lake and made camp for the night.
    Btw why would they make the biker Campground UP a steep hill???

    After I had the tent set up I walked a short distance to grab a bite to eat and finally made my way to the beach. I couldn't do that last night I was on a cliff. I finally got to stick my feet in the sand, and walk in the extremely frigid Waters of the Pacific ocean.

    For me the beach always brings peace and healing. There's something about the combination of the crashing waves, the sand, the wind, and the Sun that works miracles. And for the second time today I cried. For absolutely no reason at all.

    I am figuring out what this trip is all about . t's about finding myself, it's about letting go, it's about healing ,and it's about growing.

    When I got back to camp I had my first conversation with other bikers. I especially liked a young couple named Rachel and Daniel from Arkansas who are biking from Spokane to San Fransisco. They gave me their contact info so I can stay with them when I go through.
    Read more