Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 70

    Day 5:

    September 23, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 54 °F

    Today was a really great day!

    Woke up early to rain, so I layed around in my tent for a while thinking how wet I was going be all day, and how wet my stuff would be that night.
    I waited for the rain to slack off a bit then I got everything together and got on the road.

    It started pouring, and when an 18-wheeler or RV flew past me I'd get a fine, misty spray of lovely Oregon road water in my face,

    But I felt a-m-a-z-i-n-g!

    Today I had that feeling of euphoria I've been waiting for. It made me feel alive and extremely happy to be doing what I was doing. I have never felt anything like it. I am actually doing something that I've always wanted to do. Something big. Something I would have never thought I would get to experience. But I am

    I stopped for breakfast at a small diner right before I got to the Yaquina lighthouse. I met a really nice couple Marissa and Scott. They are biking on a motorcycle around the country. I've already met so many great people doing the same thing that I'm doing.

    Meeting couples doing this trip together makes me realize how much I miss my husband. I can't wait till we do this together, but I am so grateful he understands why I need to do this alone..

    Today I realized how much I want to complete this journey. I realize that my life will never be the same after this.

    The day stayed cool and rainy. I rode about 25 miles. Stopped at the Marine Research Center in Newport. Rode across the crazy Newport Bridge. Biking on bridges without shoulders scares me. So I walked my bike down the sidewalk. Those were my choices. I choose Safety First :-)

    I'm glad I did though ,because the wind up there was crazy!

    Speaking of wind. I got to experience the headwind everybody was talking about. Geez, the hills weren't enough?

    There weren't any crazy huge hills, but there were tons of little ones. I handled then well. My legs are definitely getting stronger.

    Because South Beach State Campground was full, I ended getting stuck at a KOA. Ugh they are terrible. And expensive . $32 for a little square of ground surrounded by road noise, bright lights, and RVs. But at least I had hot water to make soup (my stove is broke right now) and had a great conversation with a guy named Daniel who was also on a motorcycle across country. He gave me his bear spray said he didn't need it any more. Yay! I don't have to spend $50 on bear spray!

    I need to get better at this wilderness camping thing. I think I'll be better at it when there's not so many people around. I'm scared of The Crazies!
    Read more