Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 81

    Two weeks and two days in :

    October 4, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 52 °F

    I can not believe I left Portland 16 days ago!

    I can't believe I've ridden 500 miles.... on a bicycle!

    Even though I'm getting up everyday and I'm doing this, it still really hasn't sunk in what I'm doing. it feels like it's been a really long time, and I have done a lot, but compared to the whole trip I'm just getting started.

    It really makes my stomach flip when I look at the entire map of the United States. I've traveled about an inch. It's taken me 16 days to ride my bicycle an inch!

    Memphis is faaaaaaaaaaaaar away!

    I am hoping for some flatter terrain in the near future, so I can make up some time.

    Today I had to tackle a mountain that took me up 2800 feet ... Twice. The first one wasn't quite as big, but still big. I did have a little help today though. There was road work going on and they wouldn't let me ride, so they had to load my bike on a truck and took me a mile and a half up the mountain. Kind of felt like I was cheating, but I'm sure there's a mountain in my (near) future that will be twice as hard, and I'll forget all about it.

    It was chilly and rainy again. I got poured on coming down both inclines. It is really cold when you're going 20 miles an hour and you're wet.

    I actually had a reward after climbing so much. Coming down the second mountain i barely had to pedal for almost 8 miles. About thirty minutes. It was awesome! Even cold and wet.

    Saw a couple of backpackers coming off the trail as I was going down. There was only time for a quick hello as I biked past, but in that second, with only a quick exchange of smiles, we made a connection. They instantly became part of my story. These two guys with huge smiles on their faces as they walked off the trail and took off their backpacks. Even though we were getting pelted by rain, we were so happy to be so close to the town that we had worked so hard to get to.

    Willow Creek.

    It was a cute, tiny town nestled in the middle of mountains. I liked it instantly, but as I started to look around I realize that there were lots of.... hippies... They were everywhere! I felt like I was in an episode of Southpark.

    Earlier that day, a woman that was part of the road construction crew, warned me about the hippies near Willow Creek. She said to watch out. That they would steal from you while you're sleeping. I don't know how true that is, but I locked my bike up when I went in to get something to eat.

    After an overpriced, but delicious meal at the mexican restaurant. I biked another 10 miles.
    Totaling 40 for the day.

    I found a primitive campground in Burnt Ranch (wonder how this town got It's name) I am glad that I didn't have to find a place to sleep tonight, but showers would have been lovely... it's been 2 days

    I splurged and made a campfire. I roasted salami and cheese over the fire for dinner, and ate it with my last piece of flatbread.

    It looks like the big mountains are behind me, hopefully. I'd like to try to make it the 50 miles to Weavervilleill tomorrow.
    Read more